Skip to main content

History-seeking Malmoos and War Of Athena have been declared to run in Saturday’s Grade 1 World Sports Betting SA Derby and the Grade 2 Wilgerbosdrift SA Oaks respectively.

The two races form the final legs of the WSB SA Triple Crown and the Wilgerbosdrift SA Triple Tiara and will be run over 2450m on the Turffontein Standside track.

This will be the first time that two runners will be aimed at the respective titles in the same year.

The final fields for the meeting were declared on Monday and trainer Mike de Kock has taken up the challenge to earn the R2-million bonus offered for SA Triple Crown success. Should Malmoos be victorious, it will be the second time a runner from the De Kock stable has claimed the honour. He won it in 1999 with Horse Chestnut.

Other horses who have won the SA Triple Crown are Louis The King (2014) and Abashiri (2016).

A victory would also be a fitting tribute to owner Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid al Maktoum who sadly passed away in Dubai last week.

War Of Athena will also become the fourth winner of SA Triple Tiara should she win the Wilgerbosdrift SA Oaks and claim the R1-million bonus.

The other winners are Igugu (2011), Cherry On The Top (2013) and Summer Pudding (2020).

Please click here to read more.