Skip to main content

Update: Winners & Nominee’s – Equus 2019

The Equus Awards voting panel submitted their final selections
following the Greyville meeting 27 July 2019.
The voting panel comprised of Matthew Lips, Alistair Cohen, Lennon
Maharaj, David Thiselton and RA chairman Larry Wainstein as non-
voting chairperson.
The panel submitted their first round of nominations after Vodacom
Durban July Day and voting for the finalists took place after the Gold
Cup race meeting.
The categories and finalists are:
Champion Two-year-old Colt – distance immaterial: Eden Roc, Got
The Greenlight
Champion Two-year-old Filly – distance immaterial: Gabor, Miss
Champion Three-year-old Colt – distance immaterial: Chimichuri Run,
Hawwaam, Soqrat (AUS)
Champion Three-year-old Filly – distance immaterial: Celtic Sea,
Clouds Unfold, Front And Centre, Return Flight, Silvano’s Pride
Champion Older Male – distance immaterial: Do It Again, Kasimir,
Pacific Trader, Rainbow Bridge
Champion Older Filly/Mare – distance immaterial: Camphoratus, Oh
Susanna (AUS)
Champion Sprinter – (1000 – 1200m; age/gender immaterial): Celtic
Sea, Chimichuri Run, Kasimir, Pacific Trader
Champion Miler – (1400 – 1600; age/gender immaterial): Celtic Sea,
Do It Again, Soqrat (AUS)
Champion Middle Distance – (1800 – 2200; age/gender immaterial):
Do It Again, Hawwaam, Rainbow Bridge

Champion Stayer – (2400 and up; age/gender immaterial): Dynasty’s
Blossom, Magnificent Seven, Return Flight, Samurai Warrior, Walter
Voting Criteria
The awards are based on graded races and in particular Grade 1
races. As regards the stayer category, the winning horse will be at
the discretion of the voting panel. This decision was taken as the only
Grade 1 race in SA is the SA Derby, which would mean that this
should be the obvious winner based on a single run. This would also
have excluded fillies and mares.
Breeder Awards:
Stallion of the Year
Broodmare of the Year
Breeder of the Year
The Thoroughbred Breeders Association may include outstanding
and/or international achievement awards.
Individual Awards:
Champion Apprentice
Champion Jockey
Champion Owner (based on stakes earned)
Champion Trainer (based on stakes earned)
Horse of the Year Award
The awards are a glittering black-tie gala event that takes place at
the Convention Centre at Emperor’s Palace on Tuesday, August 13.
Clyde Basel will be the master of ceremonies for the evening and
guests will be treated to an array of entertainment.  There will also
be an after party at the same venue.

A limited amount of seats are available, the cost is R650 per person,
should you wish to book, please contact Penny Morsner on (011)