Skip to main content

Champion trainer Alan Greeff is on target to better the record for the most winners in an East Cape season.

Greeff came very close to the record over the last two seasons.

Gavin Smith holds the record with a formidable 150 winners in the season of 2006/2007.

Two seasons ago Greeff had his best season ever with 146 winners, just four away from equalling the Smith record.

Last season Greeff came even closer to the record when he bettered his personal best with two more winners – ending the season on 148 winners, only two away from the record.

If the upward trend continues, and Greeff has two more winners again this season, he will end the current season on 150 winners.

That means he will equal the record and, with five months till the end of the season, it looks very possible.

At the first meeting of March last Friday there were three winners for the Greeff stable. The third one made it 100 winners for Greeff for the season.

It will be very exciting to watch the progress of the Greeff stable towards the possible record at the Fairview meetings over the next five months in Port Elizabeth.

Although it is not sure if Greeff will better the record, it looks already almost certain that he will be the East Cape champion trainer yet again this season.

Unless things go really wrong, Greeff will win the title for the sixth consecutive time. It will be his 13th title overall.


2018: Alan Greeff 148 (PB, 12th title)
2017: Alan Greeff 146
2016: Alan Greeff 118
2015: Alan Greeff 105
2014: Alan Greeff 94
2013: Gavin Smith 83 (8th+title)
2012: Gavin Smith 102
2011: Gavin Smith 126
2010: Gavin Smith 128
2009: Alan Greeff 118
2008: Alan Greeff 140
2007: Gavin Smith 150 (record)
2006: Gavin Smith 131
2005: Gavin Smith 139
2004: Gavin Smith 125