replay highlights watch live racing replay highlights replay highlights

The RA Feature Season Awards will take place on Wednesday 23 May 2018 in the Aquanaut Room at Turffontein Racecourse to honour equine and human achievements during the Gauteng feature season.


The voting panel comprised Vee Moodley (non-voting Chairman), Clyde Basel, Alistair Cohen, and Larry Wainstein. The following are the categories and nominees:


Champion two year old filly: Celtic Sea; Dagmar; Ronnie’s Candy

            Champion two year old colt/gelding: Bold Eagle; William the Silent

Champion three year old filly: Folk Dance; Green plains; Secret Potion; Takingthepeace

Champion 3 year old colt/gelding: Hero’s Honour; Lobo’s Legend; Monkshood; Surcharge

Champion older horse: Attenborough, Coral Fever; Legal Eagle; Liege; Nother Russia

            Champion sprinter: Attenborough; Pinnacle Peak; Tandava; The Thinker

Champion Middle distance horse: Coral Fever; Legal Eagle; Monkshood; Nother Russia

Champion Stayer: Fortissima; Hero’s Honour; Just Cruised In; Let it Rain; Secret Potion


All nominees are in the running for the much sought-after Horse of the season Award.        


Feature season trophies are also awarded to the human achievers. These are Champion Apprentice, Champion Jockey, Champion Trainer, Champion Breeder and Champion Owner. The Leading work rider is also recognised at this event.


Over recent years, special awards have been presented to a host of people who have made a worthwhile contribution to the success of the industry.






10 May 2018

content end